To encourage and celebrate the creativity of Maine's next generation of writers,  the Young Writers of the Year Award was created in 2004. Sponsored by the Maine Community College System, with financial support from U.S. Cellular,  the award is intended to promote and encourage excellence in writing by Maine high school juniors.

Finalists will be announced in May 2014. From among the finalists, up to three winning entries may be selected by a panel of independent judges - 3 distinguished Maine authors.  If winning entries are selected, those chosen will be designated as a Governor's Young Writer of the Year and receive $2,500.






   Maine Community College System
   323 State Street
   Augusta, ME 04330
   Phone: 207-629-4000

   Project Coordinator: Ellyn Chase


A Journey into Writing | Contest Rules | Entry Form | Contest Judges | Finalists | WINNING ENTRIES | Sponsor Links